Energy Minister inaugurates new Governing Boards for Energy Commission, GNPC and VRA.

The Energy Minister has inaugurated the Governing Boards of the Energy Commission (EC), the Ghana National Petroleum Corporation (GNPC), and the Volta River Authority (VRA).

The newly formed Governing Boards of these three Energy sector firms were inaugurated by the Minister for Energy, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, in a series of brief inauguration ceremonies held at the Ministry of Energy’s Conference Room on Tuesday, August 31st, 2021. The Minister charged them to carry out their individual duties to the best of their ability, emphasizing the Presidency’s confidence in their selections.

Prof. Ebenezer Oduro Owusu is the chairman of the Energy Commission Board, which also includes Ing. Oscar Kojo Amonoo-Neizer, Dr. Kodjo Esseim Mensah-Abrampa, Dr. Isaac Frimpong Mensa-Bonsu, Mr. Moses Aristophanes Kwame Gyasi, Mr. Dari Bismark Haruna (Kpembe-wura), and Hon. Lydia Seyram Alhassan.

Prof. Ebenezer Oduro Owusu in his inaugural speech urged the Board to work hand in hand with the Energy Ministry and all key energy sector players in a bid to ensure transparency. He also stressed the need to implement effective strategic initiatives to make the Energy Commission a stronger institution.

The GNPC Board is chaired by Hon. Frederick Worsemao Blay. Its members are Dr. Kofi Koduah Sarpong, Yoo Naa Andani Yakubu Abdulai V, Mr. Martin Kwakye, Madam Ama Gyamfuah Abrefa, Ogyeahoho Yaw Gyebi II and Mr. Yaw Kyei.

In his inaugural speech Hon. Frederick Worsemao Blay was grateful for the privilege to serve, he also thanked members of the Board for their good work in previous years, entreating them to do even more in ensuring that the wealth accrued from the nation’s oil resources are shared equitably amongst all Ghanaians.

Chairing the VRA Board is Mr. Kofi Tutu Agyare. The Board’s members are Mr. Emmanuel Twum-Darkwa, Hon. Kwame Anyimadu-Antwi, Rev. Dr. Joyce Rosalind Aryee, Most Rev. Cyril K. Ben Smith Ph.D., Mr. Musa Badimsugru Adam, Mr. Solomon Adjetey Sowah, Madam Janet Anane, Mr. Richard Obeng Ankrah. 

VRA Board Chair Mr. Kofi Tutu Agyare, in his inaugural speech expressed his gratitude for the honour and opportunity to serve. He also accepted the challenge on behalf of the newly inaugurated Board to collaborate effectively with all key players in the Energy sector in ensuring that a sustainable business plan is instituted for the distribution of power at reasonable prices across the country.

Hon Stephen Asamoah-Boateng, Director-General of the State Interests and Governance Authority (SIGA), was also present at all three inaugural ceremonies, emphasizing his Authority’s mandate of acting as a regulatory body and designing a framework of good corporate governance to guide the newly inaugurated Boards in the execution of their respective duties. Mr Asamoah-Boateng also stated that SIGA will organize training and orientation events to assist the newly appointed Board members in settling into their new duties as swiftly as possible.

Below are some captured scenes from the inaugration:


Share this: